Alabama Department of Labor

News - Find the latest featured news, press releases, publications and announcements.


Alabama Department of Labor Fines Roofing Company in 2019 Death of Minor

February 04, 2020


News Release
For Immediate Release: February 4, 2020
Alabama Department of Labor Fines Roofing Company in 2019 Death of Minor
MONTGOMERY – The Alabama Department of Labor has issued fines in the amount of $15,000 to Apex Roofing and Restoration of Pelham, Alabama for violations that contributed to the death of a 15-year-old minor last summer.
Apex Roofing and Restoration is being charged with violating the following provisions of Alabama’s Child Labor Law (Title 25, Chapter 8 of The Code of Alabama 1975):
§25-8-43 Prohibited Occupations –Under 18
(a) No person under 18 years of age shall be employed or permitted, or suffered to work at any of the following occupations, positions, or places:
(4) In any roofing, scaffolding, or sandblasting operations.
(1 violation @ $5,000.00)
§25-8-35 Prohibited Occupations- Under 16

(3) In any work in or about a rolling mill, machine shop, or manufacturing
establishment which is hazardous or dangerous to health, limb or life.

(1 violation @ $5,000.00)

(10) Repairing, painting, or cleaning building or structures while working at the top of
ladders, lifts, or scaffolds exceeding a height of six feet.

(1 violation @ $5,000.00)
On July 1, 2019, the Child Labor Enforcement Division was notified of a death involving a minor in roofing operations being directed by Apex Roofing and Restoration on a project in Cullman, Alabama. The minor child was performing work on a roof when he fell approximately 50 feet onto a concrete floor below. The minor child died from his injuries. A joint investigation with the U.S. Department of Labor and OSHA determined that no safety equipment was being used by the crew on the roof of the accident.
“We want to make it to clear that Alabama will not tolerate workplace violations regarding minor workers,” said Labor Secretary Fitzgerald Washington. “These are the maximum fines allowable by state law. What happened to this child was not only a tragedy, but a completely avoidable one. We continue to share our condolences with the victim’s family.”
“At no time should anyone under the age of 18 be working on a roof,” said Robin Wilburn, Child Labor Supervisor. “The law is very clear, and this employer was in direct violation.”
The employer has an opportunity to contest the penalties by filing a written objection to the Alabama Department of Labor within 30 days.
Eight teenagers have died in prohibited occupations since 2000.
Members of the media seeking more information should contact Communications Director Tara Hutchison at (334) 309-9014.

An Equal Opportunity Employer / Program
Auxiliary aids and services available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Dial 711 for TTY Accessibility