Child Labor

Welcome to the Child Labor Division of the Alabama Department of Labor. The Alabama Child Labor Law was enacted to protect working minors. The law prohibits youths from working in occupations or places of employment, which could be harmful to their health or moral well being. By regulating the hours during which youths are allowed to work, the law ensures minors sufficient time to take advantage of their educational opportunities.

Part-time or summer jobs can provide teens with great opportunities for learning important life skills and acquiring hands-on experience, while at the same time earning some spending money. Federal and State rules regarding young workers strike a balance between ensuring sufficient time for educational opportunities and allowing appropriate work experiences.

The resources on this web site will help everyone understand what hours and jobs teen can work, and help prevent workplace injuries. Please feel free to contact the Child Labor Office any time you need help.

The Alabama Child Labor Law

Youth at work Employers who wish to employ person under 18 years of age must obtain the appropriate Child Labor Certificate(s) for each location where persons under 18 years of age are employed. A Class I Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 14 and 15 year old minors. A Class II Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 16 and 17 year old minors.

Quick Links
Apply for a Child Labor Certificate
Child Labor Certificates must be posted in public view
Renew your Child Labor Certificate
Child Labor Certificates must be posted in public view
Contacts
Forms
 

Additional Forms/Information

An Eligibility to Work form is required for each 14 or 15 year old minor employed. These forms can be obtained by the minor from their school. The Eligibility to Work form must be kept in the employee's file.

Federal Child Labor Law Information

Record Keeping

Each employer must keep on premises an Employee Information Form, Proof of Age, and Time Records showing the number of hours worked each day, starting and ending times, and break times for each employee 18 years of age and younger. Acceptable Proof of Age: A Copy of a birth certificate, driver's license, or identification card issued by a federal, state, or local government agency provided the ID card includes the employee's name and date of birth. Employers who chose not to use the Employee Information Form must keep a separate file for each employee 18 and younger which includes the following information: The employee's name, address, telephone number, date of birth, date of hire, proof of age, school of attendence, and time records.